The new Dickens

Faceless Woman

Pet Nymeria. Now die.
I'm studying Dickens' 'Hard Times' at A-level, and the comparisons are astonishing, considering that Pratchett is a fantasy author.
They are both social satirists, sending up the society they live(d) in, but pretending it's entertainment and nothing more. The both dislike the upper class, choosing them as their main target. They are both popular authors who reache(d) a wide audience, making their work accessable to everyone, even the people they were sending up. And they both used caricatures more than 3-D characters, which helped make them both accessable and amusing.
A prime example of a caricature in the discworld is, of course, the illustrious Nobby Nobbs, who has 'anti-charisma'.

It's a good point. Ankh-Morpork bears more than a pasing resemblance to Dickens' wretched London.

(According to the blue plaques, Dickens stayed in every third building in London.)

Hmm Pratchett as the new Dickens, with more magic, humour and less description.

I've also read of Stephen King being described as the modern day Dickens. In that it's high quality writing about ordinary folk, in extraordinary situations that the population at large enjoys.

Interesting comparison. Did I read from somewhere that Ankh-Morpork was indeed based on London? Except the river Ankh seems more murkier than the Thames.:) Terry Pratchett's writing is a lot of funnier and his satire is warmer than Dickens, in my opinion. And his characters are more vivid - the adventages of having all the species in the pot - though they all remind us of someone we know.

Well. Charles Dickens and Stephen King? A bit far fetched I think.

He is a little warmer. Dickens can get quite nasty sometimes, but TP seems to like his characters, even Nobby.

Humour is in the eye of the beholder.

Dickens and King? No. Both popular, but that's it. You'd be as well comparing Dickens to Tolkein as to Stephen King.