Dragon Heart ~ fantasy story excerpt

Status
Not open for further replies.

ysabara

This is something I started playing around with.....no idea where it's going yet :confused:. Much like most things I write.

Ilisabet could hear from the shouts and cheers in the courtyard that the Company had returned. She picked her tunic up from the chair and shrugged into it and then combed her fingers through her short hair. There was a mirror hanging above a chest of drawers on the far wall but she didn’t bother glancing into it. She knew what she would see. She left her room and made her way down the stairs and through the main hall, catching an orderly on her way and arranging for a tub of hot water to be taken to the bedroom. People bustled to and fro across the tiled floor. There would be a banquet tonight to celebrate the safe return of The Wolf’s, not that Ilisabet had had any qualms about this particular commission. The bandits of Tulios were overrated when compared to some of the things she had faced. Or with the things she still had to face…
Outside the doors, the late autumn sun shone fitfully in an overcast sky. There would be rain later, or so her aching bones told her. Between her breasts, the stone that she wore on a golden chain, was beginning to gather heat. It knew that he was near.
“Briy!” A boy ran past her, all legs and arms. The girl on the sorrel gelding grinned and waved to him.
“Jhasin!” She slid from her horse and hugged the boy to her. They were almost of a height with the same pale brown hair and dusky skin. Ilisabet pulled her eyes away from them. A surge of heat shot through the stone and she saw him. He gave her a slow smile as he dismounted, throwing his reins to a waiting groom and the fire in the stone spread through her bones.