Too Much Dialogue, Not Enough In Between?

Blackrook

I've started writing again and I've noticed my style hasn't changed.

I write a constant stream of dialogue with very little descriptive text in between.

I have little patience with describing the setting, describing the character's facial features, or explaining anything else.

I just get the characters to talking and jam straight through.

I'm not good with action sequences either, because there's not much talking involved.

Should I be writing screenplays perhaps?

No, it's fine where it is.

I don't think we have many aspiring screenwriters here, so it may take a while before you get a definitive answer to your question.

Too little is no more a problem than too much, as with most things. Which is to say that it can be a big problem is done badly, but if done well it can work fine.

That said; if you fancy giving writing a screenplay a go, why not try it? The worst that can happen is you'd go back to novels haven't learnt some new stuff.

Okay, TE and The Judge, stand back... I am due one slap-free mention, having been given one in advance, by The Judge, a week or so ago.

Blackrook, here's some advice given to me by Patrick Rothfuss, which should help you: "What really defines a character in a reader's mind is the actions they take and the dialogue they engage in."

It is true, (and you've asked about this on another thread) that description/exposition/infodumping in large chunks tends to be ignored by a lot of readers, so a really short detail can stick in the mind incredibly well. Take for instance a description of a little girl in a blue dress, with blonde hair and pigtails and clear blue eyes - we'll skim a good bit of that, it's kinda expected. But if you have a little girl in a blue dress with skinned knees, it tells us more about her, as well as being slightly incongruous with 'blue dress' - it "forces a little dynamic interaction in the reader's mind for the character's creation".