Flash fiction opening (341)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ed9428

Ok here it is.
My first attempt at putting something together.
I'm new to writing but not looking for soft treatment, be harsh if you have to because it is something I really want to improve.

This is a story i'm wishing to complete in about 500-600 words so I have made some cuts but hope it still flows alright.
Sometimes I feel my writing is suited to a younger audience which is fine but I would really like to start writing for an older audience so any help or opinions in this respect would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Logan was floating upside down and back to front in his seat, his bare arse facing out the cockpit window and his face where his arse should be. The gravity of Mars was no longer imposing its rule on the ship or its occupant, who was still unconscious. Making a surface launch without restraints was dangerous so Logan was lucky to be alive. He was also completely naked, though no one was around to see.

Logan’s new acquisition was a maintenance ship. A small stumpy vessel not built for comfort. The cockpit, purposeful and unappealing, contained a small U shaped console which surrounded the seat Logan was so ungracefully occupying. Several lights across the console flashed ambiguously, all surrounded by buttons and switches, few of which Logan knew the function of. So when Logan came round, with his face buried in replicated leather, it took him a few moments to remember where he was and what had just happened.

I’m off Mars.

This realization hit Logan with a guttural thump. He had never left Mars, until 2 days ago he had never left his mining sector. He was born on Mars, and that is where he was meant to die, just like the others.

Awkwardly, Logan managed to rearrange himself back into his seat, his bare skin squeaking against the cheap covering. Scanning the cockpit, Logan’s eyes were drawn to the interface screen.

DESTINATION: 1-CERES ALPHA-1