Composition of military raid, horse-type, number of mules etc

HareBrain

Smeerp of Wonder
Staff member
Supporter
I'm not a military expert, and I'd rather not have those with some knowledge of that area laugh when they read my book, so I'm hoping for some expert or just common-sense advice.

I have a 1900-era-style army wanting to make a small-scale punitive/rescue mission into a technologically backwards/backwoods country, which is fairly sparsely populated and where the population is based on a feudal or clan structure. The clan warriors would possess axes, spears, hunting bows and no more than a few antiquated firearms. Some would be mounted on hardy ponies.

The raiders' basic mission is to punish a clan that took some surveyors prisoner and rescue the surveyors if still alive. My theory is that the raiders would want to strike hard and be able to retreat quickly if things went against them. So I thought about a few scouts and 30 cavalry troopers armed with carbines, with 10 of them trained in heavy weapons, and with the mule-train carrying two dismantled machine-guns and a dismantled mountain field-gun. If necessary the raiders would leave these and the mules behind if they had to get out.

So one question is, what kind of horse/pony could the raiders reasonably have for rough country yet still with the expectation of getting away quickly? And if they took normal cavalry horses (possibly in error: I haven't yet decided how competently they've planned this) what difficulties would they encounter?

And, how much gear could each trooper carry and still be manoevrable, in terms of food, pup-tent etc? How much would they be likely to rely in getting food locally, such as by hunting deer? And how many mules would be needed to support the raiders for an expedition of no more then a week (probably nearer four days), if eight mules are taken up with the heavy weapons? And how many extra men to handle the baggage train? (I assume these would be auxiliaries?)