1st POV chapter [1,423 words]

Status
Not open for further replies.

sozme

Ok so I posted a much, much shorter version here. It was advised that I post a longer excerpt for better context, so... yeah I just decided to post near the word limit (sorry).

Of course, I'd love to hear opinions on any aspect of the piece, which I know needs a lot of work. There are obvious mechanical issues in places that need fixing, but I just can't think of better phraseology at the moment.

That being said, this is the first POV chapter for this particular character (Cannon), and I want to know if it is hooky enough to keep you reading.

BTW I posted a later chapter from this exact same story about 9 months ago here featuring the same character. Sorry for asking for more than one critique this week. I am in my final year of medical school and trying to use my ample amount of free time to finish this story which has been a WIP for over 4 years now. Far and away my biggest problem is OCD and just not having a solid process for writing a story, causing me to vacillate between outlining, discovery writing, and (mostly) frustration-induced procrastination.

###########################################################

Chapter 3 - Cannon
Kellen 32, 434 I.E. (Present Day)

The terrorists crashed on the colonial world of Juno. Their starcraft lay half-buried in muck, surrounded by air-vans with flashing blue-and-red lights. Chief Ranger Driscoll Cannon strode along the beach towards it, the air hot and heavy on his skin, the scent of ammonia-filled ocean bitter in his nostrils. Overhead, flashes of lightning illuminated chopper-sized avians circling a blood orange sky.

“How many dead?” Cannon said.

“Thirty-two,” Klein said, looking up from the holographic display on his wrist. “Three alive. Eight unaccounted for.”

“What do you mean unaccounted for? It’s an empty cargo ship for fucks sake.”

“Not to worry, Chief,” Klein said slowly. “Marshal Sheehan is sure there’s no explosives.”