Hybrid publishers

Phyrebrat

www.beanwriting.com
Supporter
I’ve had a WhatsApp from a friend who has a friend who’s desperately trying to get published. She has had an offer from a hybrid publisher called Foreshore Publishing and has asked my opinion.

I have no experience of hybrid publishing and no interest in it either as I think it requires a lot of effort that I could be putting into my writing, however I said I would ask the gang here. What — if any — experience do you have of that publisher or hybrid publishing in general?

Thanks in advance.

ETA — they have asked for a payment of £2k

I just Googled the difference between hybrid and vanity publishing, and all I got was basically that HP has more of a quality review process and seeks to act as a partner, making more money from the sale of books. But that could just be fluff, because how, for an individual title, would you be able to tell this? Their covers look good, but £2k is a lot of money. What's it going to be spent on? How much marketing, etc? Have any of their other authors sold well? I think she should be suspicious, and at the very least do a lot of digging.

I had a quick look at the sites for Writers Beware and the Alliance of Independent Authors and neither had posted any warnings about that particular company, so it would seem no one appears to have complained about them and how much work they do (or don't do).

If they contacted her out of the blue, then that points to them being no more than a vanity press and she should drop them immediately.

If they responded to her making a submission, she has to decide whether paying them £2k is better value than her spending her own time and effort trying to self-publish and perhaps producing something that doesn't look quite so professional.