Young Adult Fiction

GOLLUM

Hi all!

My recent correpsondence with some of the users on this forum has brought up an important issue for me anyway.

Whilst there are theads on some specific authors in Sci Fi and Fantasy for yuong adult readers I couldn't see any specific thread like thre one I'm now posting.

I'm sure everyone can post something on some series they currently or in the past enjoyed that are directed more towards young adult readers that they can recommend to others.

I'm not an expert these days on young adult fiction (Sci Fi/Fantasy) but I know there's plenty of you out there that have read or are reading these works.

Actually some of the others I'll feature in my Classic Fantasy Pre 1980s thread wrote for young adult audiences.

Bye for now..:D :D :D

I enjoyed the "Young Legionary" series by Douglas Hill
Also the "Blade of the Poisoner & Master of Fiends" duo by the same author.
It started my love of sci-fi & fantasy much more than LoTR - which is a nightmare to read when you're younger IMO.

Winters_Sorrow said:
I enjoyed the "Young Legionary" series by Douglas Hill
Also the "Blade of the Poisoner & Master of Fiends" duo by the same author.
It started my love of sci-fi & fantasy much more than LoTR - which is a nightmare to read when you're younger IMO.
Hi there!

Can you provide some more info on Douglass Hill and the books you have mentioned?

I’ll add the following. Anyone want to add extra information on those listed as well as any other young adult authors?

*NB Some of these will also feature in my classic fantasy authors list.

The Hobbit JRR Tolkien A prelude to LOTR, great stuff!

Harry Potter J K Rowling Classics in the making.

A Series Of Unfortunate Events by the alias Lemony Snickett

The Narnia Chronicles C.S. Lewis, a pure classic.

Phillip Pullman Creator of the cult series His Dark Materials (Think I saw a thread on him somewhere)