Julian May - Pliocene Exiles/Galactic Milieu Series

Lycanthrope

I first read May's Pliocene Saga when it was first published in the 80's, then the subsequent Intervention book followed by the Galactic Milieu trilogy. I enjoyed them a lot and always wanted to re-read, but a lecturer at university borrowed my Pliocene books and never returned them!

Now in my mid-40's I have them on my iOS devices and after the best part of a year I'm just beginning the final volume, Magnificat.

I have to say that my appreciation of these books is far higher now than it was then. Many reasons for this I think, being older, and hopefully wiser, I understand the social sub-texts much better. My vocabulary is wider and the words I still don't know can be instantly looked up on the iBooks app. The character development is rich too and I find myself relating to the main character, Uncle Rogi, much better than I could as a teenager. Finally, perhaps, it is of course fascinating to see how accurate Lay was in the predictions of the near-future. In this department the book hasn't dated too badly, but of course the concept of the Internet wasn't there and is perhaps the biggest miss.

Compelling,g reading though and utterly believable story. Highly recommended sci-fi/fantasy cross-over series and has to be in my top ten :)

I'd love to read them but they are not available for my Kobo E-reader.

The Exiles Saga is out on Kindle in the UK and US next week, I believe the Galactic Milieu books are reissued next month.

The Kobo schedule shouldn't be too different to Kindle I would have thought.

The Exiles Saga is out on Kindle in the UK and US next week, I believe the Galactic Milieu books are reissued next month.

The Kobo schedule shouldn't be too different to Kindle I would have thought.
I'll keep checking the Kobo store, then.